The Philadelphia Experiment

Science Fiction TV Show Guides Forums Other Forums Science Faction The Philadelphia Experiment

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    SadGeezer
    Keymaster

What does anyone know about this? i only remember little bits about what allegedly happened. i vaguely remember something about Einstein being involved in it, and having started a Physics course, have become interested in his work. i find some of the ideas i do remember intriguing, and am interested in the possible science behind it. what really happened? what went wrong? was it covered up, as the other half has suggested, because no-one wanted the world to know that a great man such as Einstein could get things so badly wrong?

trillian
    Participant

The mythos of it is that in the ’40’s, the military was experimenting with cloaking technology. I’m not good with the technical language, but I’ll give a try at explaining it.

They attempted to bend light around an entire ship by using (If I remember correctly) some sort of electrical technology. I don’t know if it was atomic or not.

Now comes the myth part: When the device was engaged, the personnel on board and the ship disappeared for a few moments. When it reappeared, men were melded into the deck, some were missing and some were sick, nauseated, some were dead, some were reportedly ‘phasing’ in and out. It is reported that at the exact time that the device was used, some of the sailers appeared at the back of a bar they frequented in the past. Although everyone on board was effected in a negative manner, the test was considered a success.

They don’t know for sure if the ship remained where it was or travelled somewhere else during the test. I think I heard part of the story that the ship was spotted several hundreds of miles from it’s original position then disappeared again, at the exact time the test was stopped.