Jumping the sci-fi shark

Science Fiction TV Show Guides Forums General Sci Fi Sci Fi Angst Jumping the sci-fi shark

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    FrostGeezer
    Participant

Hello, geezers! 😀

Whether this topic has been thrashed around a bit in the past I don’t know. I’m a newbie, so I’m invoking the newbie’s right to blindly repeat old topics. Please direct all complaints to the ten-foot troll in the corner.

Most of you are probably familiar with the term, but—just in case–I’ll redefine the fateful TV condition known as “jumping the shark.” It’s that fatal moment when a good show commits a blunder and spirals down thereafter. The term is coined after Fonzie’s goofy water-skiing stunt on “Happy Days” wherein he literally jumped the shark. How stupid was that?! The show punctured the thin membrane of its credibility and gradually deflated. It’s a moment of cosmic TV letdown when a show you like goes bad on you.

With that for starters, let’s get to the entrée: Can you name a favorite show that’s gone sour on you and pinpoint the fateful misstep?

I can think of a couple, but I’ll stick with one for now or this post will be nine miles long(er). Here goes:

I liked “Next Generation” right out of the gate and watched faithfully in its ambitious, if somewhat stiff, early years. I even tolerated—granted, through clenched teeth–Wil Weaton bumbling around the bridge every now and then.