On Public Figures and Private Lives

Science Fiction TV Show Guides Forums Cult Sci Fi Series Lexx On Public Figures and Private Lives

Viewing 46 posts - 1 through 46 (of 46 total)
  • Author
    SadGeezer
    Keymaster

Greetings Sad Board members, I am a relative newbie to your forum though I have been lurking here for some time and I feel now that I must say something in defense of Michael McManus and those who would uphold his right to a private life.
    From what I have both read and experienced by working with “famous actor type”, Mr McManus it would seem is not out of line at all.
    Know this, Michael McManus is the rule, not the exception, to star behavior. Brian Downey on the other hand, is the exception.
    Let’s put it into perspective folks…
    So you have a job, you go to work, you do your 8/10/12 hours each day and perhaps on some of those days after you leave your job you may head to the local watering hole for a refreshing beverage and some relaxation. Now imagine that one day you head to your bar after a particularly greuling days work and as you approach the bar to order your drink, someone walks up to you and immediatly knows everything about you and your occupation and begins hero worshiping you on the spot. Something to the effect of: “Oh my god your Bob Smith the local proctologist!!!! I LOVE YOUR WORK! You have such gentle hands, I wouldn’t want anyone’s thumb up my ass but yours!”
    Now folks, imagine that not only does this person spit when they say the letter S, but they proceed to invade the parameters of your personal space and perhaps even go as far as to touch you in a familiar way, how would you feel? I can assure you that even if this person was amazingly attractive you would probably be bothered wouldn’t you?
    Well imgine now you are a moderatly attractive actor and this happens to you rather frequently, I can assure you that this would probably affect the way that you interact with the public now wouldn’t it?